Our purpose

The Upper Murray Community Recovery Committee will consider the entire region, including cross-border communities, and bigger vision projects.

Our purpose is to lead, identify and advocate for the region-wide recovery priorities for the Upper Murray through bringing together community representation; regional, cross-border and local interests.

We will work closely with council, Bushfire Recovery Victoria and other Community Recovery Committees in the region to recover and rebuild our community.

Our priorities

  1. Health and wellbeing for individuals and communities
  2. Mobile phone black spots
  3. Electricity and power security (microgrid)
  4. Agricultural diversity
  5. Adventure tourism

Our members

Chairperson: Dominic Sandilands

Deputy chair: Father Mitch Porter

Treasurer: Jo Mackinnon

Group RepresentedName
Berringama / Lucyvale CRC
Alex Stravakos
Biggara CRCFaith Damm
Corryong CRCThea Newton and Cathy Ross
Cudgewa CRCJoshua Levi Collings
Nariel Valley CRC
Christina Aston
ThowglaDavid Braniff
Tintaldra CRCJo MacKinnon (Treasurer)
Towong CRCNathan Hewatt
Walwa/ Jingellic
Janice Newnham
Cross Border/ Tooma
Kate Sutherland
Agriculture Working GroupAndrew Whitehead
Economic Development Working Group Ian Cesa
People and Wellbeing Working GroupDominic Sandilands (Chair)
People and Wellbeing/ PastoralFr Mitch Porter (Deputy Chair)
Natural Environment Working GroupJanice Newnham
Built Infrastructure Working GroupVacant
Country Fire AuthorityPaul Carkeek
YouthErrol Obran
Youth and Corryong Neighbourhood CentreSara Jenkins

Observers: Towong Shire Council, Bushfire Recovery Victoria, Snowy Valleys Council, Communities not represented by an established local area Community Recovery Committee

Our responsibilities

The Upper Murray Community Recovery Committee came together to:

  • Advocate for community recovery needs to and from stakeholders
  • Assist with proposals to attract project funding and resources to invest in the Upper Murray region
  • Maintain effective two-way communication on the community recovery process
  • Contribute to evaluation processes that will improve future disaster recovery efforts